Thoughts on Paris

Having now had the chance to properly explore Paris, my primary impression is: belle cité! I’m struck by how unspoiled it is for a capital city, I don’t recall seeing very many skyscrapers, tower blocks or concrete cubes. Street after street is filled with imposing and striking architecture, and there is an air of sophistication about the place. All this is most notable from above, thanks to the stunning vistas afforded from the Eiffel Tower:

(OK, so there’s at least one skyscraper in that picture)

Although I had walked up to the tower’s second level, I decided to take the lift down as I was hungry and didn’t feel like paying €2.50 for a kit-kat. I had a leisurely stroll along the Rive Gauche (left bank) of the river, had lunch and took in the Museé D’Orsay, home to many Impressionist, Post-Impressionist and Art Noveau works. Particularly interesting was a rather grim piece by Van Gogh of his therapist, painted just a month before the he committed suicide.

Unfortunately, photography was not allowed in the museum, although I did manage to get this shot before realising that:

The museum was magnifique, though.

OK, I’m starting to feel pretentious with all these French words, so that’s enough for today.

This entry was posted in France, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

