I found me some mountains!

I love mountains, they’re quite possibly my favourite geographical feature. Somehow, taking a stroll against the backdrop of sun-drenched alpine scenery always seems to brighten my day.

That’s why I’m here in Zakopane, in the foothills of the Polish Tatras. I’m hoping to do some hiking, but haven’t got round to it yet due to disorganisation on my part. I pre-booked accommodation at the last minute as I would be arriving quite late and didn’t want to be roaming dark streets looking for a place to stay. As a result, my room last night wasn’t ideally situated. After much searching I’ve found a better place today: a pleasant private room on the outskirts of town, just minutes away from the start of the marked hiking trails.

20120404-223744.jpgExhibit A: mountains.

20120404-223821.jpgA path, aching to be trodden.

I’ve got my walking boots, waterproofs, food, a map, a first aid kit and GPS. All I need now is for the weather to stay like it is today. Hope with me!

This entry was posted in Poland, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I found me some mountains!

  1. Simon Ridgewell says:

    More photos!!

  2. restlessjo says:

    Mountains and lakes please. Give my love to Kasprowy Wierch and Morskie Oko.

  3. restlessjo says:

    Incidentally, not sure if you’re UK based but I’ve nominated you for Easyjet’s Inspiration Invitation.
    http://holidays.easyjet.com/holiday-ideas-inspiration.htm
    It’s promo for them of course but maybe interesting to do? It’s on till the end of May anyway.

  4. Trevor says:

    Hi Mark, Really interesting to read about your travels in Poland. There is certainly much to see and plenty of history to take in. My own experience of Poland was very limited with just a few days in an industrial town close to the Ukraine border where there was quite a strong soviet feel to the place. Your trip makes me want to explore other parts to the country. No doubt about it though the Poles are very friendly and hospitable so I’m sure you will enjoy your stay there and I fully expect you to come back as a vodka connoissieur!

  5. Karen Ridgewell says:

    Hi Mark, I hope the sun shone for your walk and you’ve taken lots of stunning photos. Looking forward to the next episode.

  6. David Parkes says:

    Looks awesome Mark!

  7. Jeannette says:

    Hi Mark love the photos looking forward to following your travels.
    Love Jeannette

Leave a Reply

