A trail of breadcrumbs: the story so far

I’m well over a month into my epic trip now, and this just happens to be my 50th post on the blog, so in the interest of celebrating arbitrary milestones I thought I’d share something cool with you, loyal readers. I’m mostly using my iPhone to take pictures as I go, which has many disadvantages, but a point in its favour is that every time I take a picture, it puts a pin in the map where-ever I was at the time. This means I can look back and see pins in all the places I’ve been so far (click to enlarge):

20120425-221558.jpg

As you can see, I’ve done a lot of zigzagging back and forth throughout the continent in order to see everything I wanted to see – this was kind of expected but also a consequence of not planning a set route in advance.

I realise this will be mundane for anyone with a smartphone or into technology, but I think it’s a really neat way of visualising where I’ve been. Where will the next pin be? I have no idea!

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A trail of breadcrumbs: the story so far

  1. restlessjo says:

    Yeah, cool. I am so untechnical you wouldn’t believe it. Then again, you probably would.
    So how do you decide where next- go to the bus station and read the place names? I’m intrigued.

    • nontraveller says:

      A combination of local’s recommendations, internet reviews, and my trusty guide book! I have a general idea of where I’m going, I just choose interesting places that are on the way to my next destination.

  2. restlessjo says:

    Aah, so there IS a grand plan- that’s what I was wondering I suppose. I’m a Rough Guides follower but am always susceptible to a good-looking guide book.

Leave a Reply

