Country #13 – Turkey!

From Ikaria I island-hopped via Samos onto the Turkish mainland. I didn’t stop in Samos, I just had a few hours to wonder round, and just enough time for a quick dip in the sea, and then it was time to catch a ferry. I’m staying in Kusadasi, a rather touristic town but close to the ancient city of Ephesus (more on that later).

I didn’t get much sleep the previous night owing to an early morning ferry, but managed to stay up for the festivities laid on by the hostel. A large group of Canadians on an organised tour were staying here, and I had dinner with them, along with drinks, hookah pipe smoking, and a belly dancer who managed to get the whole room dancing. All provided by the hostel!

I awoke early to the voice of the Islamic call to prayer, a surreal sound to come drifting through your window when you’re half awake. I then toured Ephesus with a roommate in the baking sun.

I need sleep now.

This entry was posted in Travel, Turkey and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

